« Labelling joints | Main | Gabriel Branby of Gränsfors Bruks »

07 May 2010

Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Mathijs

Hello,

My name is Mathijs, a Belgian Japanese studies student in his final year. I lived two years in Japan as an exchange student and thats when I got struck by passion for crafts and Japanese carpentry in particular. That is why I am currently writing my graduation thesis about the Japanese carpenter. When I found out about the blog and the kesurokai I was deeply moved. I think I have read every page at least a couple of times... Great work!

During my research for the thesis I also stumbled upon the Takenaka carpentry museum website. It was a great help in writing the part on carpenters tools. Recently I found another very interesting website:

http://www.aisf.or.jp/~jaanus/ (in english)

It is about Japanese Architecture and Art but contains also a lot of detailed information concerning Japanese joinery and tools.

Kind regards and apologies for my English.

Mathijs

Nicola Wood

Thanks for the link Mathijs and good luck with your thesis!

Richard  Law

Some museums are less sterile than others mebbee. The one where Peter Folansbee works sounds pretty interesting, and the one in Colonial Williamsburg VA (not NY) with the coopering , and other stuff sounds good too. In the UK Mark Allery does stints in the Weald and Downland Museum. I think the way these, and no doubt many other, museums bring the past to life are the way forward. I know what you mean about sterile cases of dusty objects, but then what else would you do with e.g the stuff from Sutton Hoo and the Mary Rose? Some of that stuff has to be displayed somehow, there's no substiute for the real thing. Huh?

Par

Museeums; I once stood with some some medieval reanctment people over a glass cabinet with the Mästermyr tools, discussing the selection and how many of them we had between us. But as others have said there are different types of museums, and if one is a stone axe geek, the the wall of stone axes is neat, but for the average museum visitor it is just meaningless. On the other hand the geeks hate being shown only one example. No easy solution.

Nicola Wood

I wasn't criticising museums generally, I think they offer a huge amount to so many people as well as preserving many very important artefacts. Particularly, as you say Richard, the outdoor museums that have craftsmen working there, offer a really rich resource.

I was more criticising myself, I am so restless and impatient! Unless I am really involved in something, preferably doing something, I find it difficult to engage my brain.

A. Non

Looks just like the link that Scruff posted on the forums to me. Glad he was of some use in your endeavours, keep us posted on the progress and your trip.

The comments to this entry are closed.