« Video ethnography | Main | Pavilion model making »

25 March 2010

Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Jonas

Omg I love those saws! Seems like a new world of tools for me who live i Sweden. Are there any books about japanese hand tools written in English that you can recommend?

Nicola Wood

Yes - "Japanese woodworking tools: their tradition, spirit and use" by Toshio Odate [ISBN 0-85442-075-4] which is a lovely book written by a Japanese craftsman who now lives and works in the USA.

Steve Branam

I just bought a maebiki nokogiri on eBay, I'm very excited to try it! It'll have to be shipped from Japan and then I'll have to make a handle for it. I've been ripping green applewood into small boards with a one-man timber crosscut saw (you can see on my blog). It's a lot of work, so I'm very interested in comparing the difference. I'm going to have to buy Odate's book. I have a 4 ft. log of 18" diameter walnut that's been waiting patiently in my yard to be turned into boards (if the bugs haven't gotten to it).

And I see you are Robin's wife, a pole lathe is on my list of things to build!

The comments to this entry are closed.